top of page

Essence of the Spirit: Hinduism and Buddhism


Hinduism is a religion that has influenced vast populations in Asia and is considered the third-largest religion in the world after Christianity and Islam, with over 900 million followers. This belief, originating in India, is referred to as Hinduism, while the Hindu community calls their religion "Sanatana Dharma," meaning "Eternal Truth."

Historically, Hinduism is based on the sacred texts known as the Vedas, dating back to the late 2000s BCE. It developed from the religious beliefs of the Aryan community that invaded India between 1200 and 1500 BCE. Evolving over time and amalgamating various beliefs from people residing in different regions of India, Hinduism emerged. This concept gained more prominence, especially in English-speaking countries during the first half of the 19th century.

Hinduism does not have a single "founder." While being considered a divine belief, it regards Brahman as the ultimate entity, with other gods being different manifestations of Brahman.


Buddhism is a belief system that captured the attention of Einstein, who said, "The most suitable practice for science is Buddhism." Today, it boasts more than 500 million followers worldwide. Originating in India, Buddhism spread to regions like China, Japan, Korea, Mongolia, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Tibet.

Buddhism is seen not only as a religion but also as an ethical and philosophical system by many historians and religious scholars. It is believed to have emerged as a response to the polytheistic Hinduism.

The founder of Buddhism, Buddha (563-483 BCE), was born as Siddhartha Gautama, the son of a king, in Lumbini, at the foothills of the Himalayas in Northern India. Born into a life of luxury, he set out to seek spiritual understanding after encountering the sufferings of life. Buddha's teachings focus on accepting change, resisting the allure of the material world, and finding inner peace.

According to Buddha, humans resist change and sustain their suffering due to their desires. However, true happiness is attained by relinquishing desires and embracing change without resistance. Buddhism aims to achieve spiritual enlightenment through methods such as meditation and self-observation. Its core objective is to break free from the cycle of life known as samsara and attain ultimate freedom known as nirvana.

These two doctrines, Hinduism and Buddhism, embody the religious and philosophical richness of Asia. Each seeks to address the spiritual and philosophical needs of individuals through their unique teachings.

Hinduism and Buddhism: Differences and Similarities

• Belief in God: Hinduism believes in the deity Brahma.

• Creation of the Universe: Hinduism suggests that when the universe began to be created, Hinduism itself came into existence.

• Understanding of Life: Hinduism's purpose of life is to achieve liberation from the "cycle of life and death" by adhering to societal norms and fulfilling worship.

• Belief in the Soul: Hinduism acknowledges the existence of the soul.

• Law of Karma: According to Hinduism, an individual shapes their destiny through actions, thoughts, and consciousness.

• Reincarnation: Hinduism holds the belief in reincarnation, where the soul is reborn in different bodies.

• Moksha and Mukti: Moksha (liberation) and Mukti (salvation) denote release from the cycle of rebirth in Hinduism.

• Nirvana: Hinduism believes in Nirvana, where the human soul merges with the divine soul.

• Ahimsa: Ahimsa, the principle of refraining from causing harm, is significant in Hinduism, where all life is sacred.

• Meditation: Hinduism employs meditation as a means to connect with the divine.

• Caste System: Hinduism encompasses a social structure known as the caste system.

• Faith and Worship: Hinduism involves concepts of faith and worship.

• Illusion Concept: Hinduism includes the concept of "illusion," suggesting that we live without fully understanding the truth.

• Religious Commandments: Hinduism's rules and regulations are found in the holy book called "Manava Dharina Shastra."


• Belief in God: Buddhism rejects the concept of God and focuses on Anicca and Anatta.

• Concept of Salvation: Buddhism links individual happiness to inner transformation and enlightenment rather than societal structures.

• Four Noble Truths: Buddhism centers on the Four Noble Truths—suffering, its cause, its cessation, and the path.

• Eightfold Path: Buddhism outlines the Eightfold Path, which involves right understanding, thought, speech, action, livelihood, effort, mindfulness, and concentration.

• Law of Karma: Buddhism believes that an individual's actions, thoughts, and consciousness shape their destiny.

• Rebirth: Buddhism prefers the term "rebirth" over reincarnation.

• Nirvana: Buddhism defines Nirvana as a state of happiness and freedom.

• Meditation: Meditation in Buddhism leads to enlightenment and inner peace.

• Caste System: Buddhism rejects the caste system.

• Prayer: Meditation takes precedence over prayer in Buddhism.

• Nature of Mind: Buddhism holds that the universe is a product of the mind, and delusion arises from the mind.

• Sacred Text: Buddhism's holy text is known as the Tripitaka or Tipitaka.

While Hinduism and Buddhism share similarities, their fundamental beliefs, teachings, and approaches diverge. Both philosophies contribute to the cultural and religious diversity of Asia. Until the next blog post, take care.



bottom of page